in SCS 2000

Members of the SCS 2000 Planning Committee

  • Philmore Hart, American Institute of Architects/Cleveland Chapter (chair of the planning committee)
  • Vince Adamus, Build Up Greater Cleveland
  • David Beach, EcoCity Cleveland
  • Paul Diegelman, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Marty Gelfand, Office of Congressman Dennis Kucinich
  • David Goss, Build Up Greater Cleveland
  • Soren Hansen, American Society of Civil Engineers, Cleveland Section, and Cleveland Engineering Society
  • Kathy Hexter, Levin College of Urban Affairs, Cleveland State University
  • Lisa Hong, EQuest
  • Sadhu Johnston, Cleveland Green Building Coalition
  • Lyn Luttner, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Rosemary Szubski, Levin College of Urban Affairs, Cleveland State University
  • Richard Winklhofer, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Working Group participation
For more than six months leading up to SCS 2000, working groups met to develop action plans for setting Northeast Ohio on a more sustainable course. Participation was broad and diverse. Here is a partial listing of the groups involved.

Adache Cuini Lynn Associates, Inc.
American Greetings
American Institute of Architects
American Society of Civil Engineers, Cleveland Section
Baker & Hostetler, LLP
Battelle Environmental Technology Commercialization Center
Build Up Greater Cleveland
Burges & Burges: Strategists
Church in the City Land Use Task Force
City Architecture
City of Cleveland Planning Commission
City of Cleveland Heights
City of Euclid, Mayor Paul Oyaski
City of Garfield Heights, Mayor Tom Longo
City of Westlake, Mayor Dennis Clough
Clean Air Conservancy
Cleveland City Council
Cleveland Green Building Coalition
Cleveland State University, Levin College of Urban Affairs
Cleveland Waterfront Coalition
Cobalt Group, Inc.
Congressman Dennis Kucinich
Congressman Sherrod Brown
Congresswoman Stephanie Tubbs Jones
Connecticut Reserve Technologies
Councilman Ken Montlack, Cleveland Heights
Councilwoman Susan Infeld, University Heights
The Countryside Program
Coventry Village Special Improvement District
Cuyahoga County Department of Development
Cuyahoga County Planning Commission
Cuyahoga County Solid Waste District
Cuyahoga County Treasurer's Office
Earth Day Coalition
EcoCity Cleveland
Edward Howard & Co.
Environmental Design Group
eQuest Engineers
Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
First Suburbs Consortium
Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority
Home Builders Assoc. of Greater Cleveland
The HouseMender, Inc.
Kimlin and Associates
Mainstreet Connections
Montgomery Watson, Inc.
Northeast Ohio Areawide Coordinating Agency
Northeast Ohio Regional Alliance
Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District
Oberlin College Environmental Studies Program
Ohio Department of Transportation
Ohio EPA
Ohio State University Extension Urban Gardening Program
R.P. Carbone Co.
Regional Solutions
Schmidt Copeland Parker Stevens
Shorebank Enterprise Group
Smart Coast
State Rep. Dale Miller
State Rep. Ed Jerse
State Senator Eric Fingerhut
TerrAqua Environmental Science and Policy
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
U.S. EPA Region V
U.S. EPA Radiation and Indoor Air Section
University Circle, Inc.
Urban Design Center of Northeast Ohio, KSU
Venture Lighting International, Inc.
WCPN Public Radio


Back to top

EcoCity Cleveland
3500 Lorain Avenue, Suite 301, Cleveland OH 44113
Cuyahoga Bioregion
(216) 961-5020
Copyright 2002-2003



Proceedings of Sustainable Communities Symposium 2000
Three days in May 2000
Symposium agenda
The thought and practice of sustainability
Themes of the discussion
Agenda for architecture/urban design
Agenda for business/economics
Agenda for infrastructure
Agenda for political/legal issues
Agenda for health
Forging a regional civic vision
Committed to people and place
Sustainability pledge
Quotes from speakers
Resources for sustainability

Download publication of SCS 2000 proceedings

Back to main sustainability page
Go to SCS 2000 site

go to home page go to home page

Related Links:









Partner Links